Responsible Vendor Information
Introduction to the Responsible Vendor Program
Since its creation in 1997, the Louisiana Responsible Vendor Program has trained and permitted thousands of servers in the state of Louisiana. The Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) licenses individuals from all three sections of the RV Program (Providers, Trainers and Servers). The three sections of the RV Program encompass the entire process of becoming a server in Louisiana. RV Providers create training programs to facilitate RV Program education through the use of licensed RV Trainers. By making RV Classes available on a regular basis, these RV Providers have successfully facilitated the education and training for the thousands of bartenders, waitresses, sales clerks and other personnel that have been licensed as RV Servers to sell alcohol and tobacco throughout the state.
Responsible Vendor Servers
According to Louisiana law “any employee of a vendor who is authorized to sell or serve alcoholic beverages or tobacco products in the normal course of his or her employment or deals with customers who purchase or consume alcoholic beverages or tobacco products” must attend an RV Class and obtain an RV Server Permit within 45 days of their hire date. RV Classes are held on a regular basis throughout the state and are provided to individuals for a fee of $25 per person. The classes average 2 ½ - 3 hours and include a test which must be passed in order to receive your Responsible Vendor Server Card. Our website features a list of all of the RV Classes being offered statewide so that you can easily find and schedule an RV Class.
The retail locations at which licensed servers are employed are required to keep employment records on site for inspection by ATC Enforcement Agents. ATC Enforcement Agents also routinely check the compliance of licensed vendors and their servers. Servers found to sell or serve alcohol/tobacco products in violation of Louisiana can be held liable in criminal or civil court depending on the violation. ATC Agents have begun issuing administrative citations directly to RV Servers for violations of Louisiana Title 26 violations. If you have received an administrative violation, Click Here to access the ATC Prosecutor’s Page where you can obtain information about our administrative violation process.
Responsible Vendor Committee Meetings
The Responsible Vendor Program administrator is a committee made up of nine persons, one of whom shall be appointed by the commissioner or his/her designee. Of the other eight, each of the following groups or associations shall select one person, subject to approval by the commissioner:
- Louisiana Restaurant Association
- Louisiana Retailer’s Association
- Louisiana Association of Alcoholic Beverage Licensees, Inc.
- Louisiana Oil Marketers Association
- Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse (C.A.D.A)
- Louisiana Hotel/Motel Association
- Highway Safety Council
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving
Responsible Vendor Committee meetings are held on the third Thursday of the month and are open to the public.