Frequently Asked Questions

 

 

How do I obtain an alcohol and/or tobacco permit?
What do I do with my fingerprint card?
How much does an alcohol and/or tobacco permit cost?
How will I know if my application for a permit has been approved?
How can I avoid delays in processing my permit application?
How do I pay my permit fees?
What if I did not receive my renewal application?
What if I lose or misplace my permit?
When does my permit expire?
What is NOT considered 'public habitable area'?
What is considered 'public habitable area'?
How much public habitable area does my permit require?
What is a compliance check?
How are establishments chosen for compliance checks?
What is the legal age to enter a bar in Louisiana?
What is the legal drinking age in Louisiana?
What is the legal age for tobacco use in Louisiana?
I need to attend a Responsible Vendor server class. How do I find one?
Q: How do I obtain an alcohol and/or tobacco permit?
A: Contact ATC Headquarters. Contact numbers can be found on the Contact page.
Top
Q: What do I do with my fingerprint card?
A: Fingerprint cards may be obtained from ATC or your local police department or sheriff's office, and must be completed 
for all Owners and their Spouses for the purpose of conducting a background check. The completed fingerprint cards, 2 disclosure forms, and processing fee, must be submitted to ATC, as specified below. See (*) and (**). The processing fee amount is $42.50, and should be made payable to Louisiana State Police. 
Acceptable forms of payment are money order, cashier's check, and certified check. * IF YOU ARE APPLYING AS A NEW BUSINESS, the completed fingerprint cards, 2 disclosure forms, and processing fee must be submitted to ATC at the same time that you apply for your Notice of Intent (NOI) Posters. ** IF YOU ARE ACQUIRING AN 
ON-GOING BUSINESS, and this location has held a valid, state-issued alcoholic beverage permit within the last six months, your fingerprint cards, 2 disclosure forms, and processing fee must be submitted to ATC at the same time that you apply for your alcoholic beverage permit.
Top
Q: How much does an alcohol and/or tobacco permit cost?
A: The cost of a permit depends on the type of sales and activity you will engage in. The fees for alcohol and tobacco permits are contained in the application packets that can be downloaded from the Alcohol Applications or Tobacco Applications section.
Top
Q: How will I know if my application for a permit has been approved?
A: Upon receipt of a new business application, ATC has 35 days to issue or deny the permit. The 35 days begins on the date ATC receives the application. If you have not received your permit by the 35th day, you should contact ATC Headquarters.
Top
Q: How can I avoid delays in processing my permit application?
A: Completely fill out all of the application materials. ATC will not accept any application unless ALL required documents are enclosed. Your application will be returned to you, along with any fees submitted, if the required materials are not included.
Top
Q: How do I pay my permit fees?
A: ATC accepts money orders, cashier’s checks, certified checks, and credit or debit card payments. 
ATC accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. 
ATC does NOT accept cash or personal checks.
Top
Q: What if I did not receive my renewal application?
A: Since you must renew in the month prior to expiration to avoid paying penalties, you should contact ATC for another renewal application. ATC office contact numbers can be found on the Contact page.
Top
Q: What if I lose or misplace my permit?
A: If you need to replace your lost or misplaced permit, an affidavit must be submitted requesting a replacement permit. The affidavit must be signed by the owner or officer, and notarized. A $10.00 fee is required for each replacement permit.
Top
Q: When does my permit expire?
A: Parish Expiration Dates
Top
Q: What is NOT considered 'public habitable area'?
A: Restrooms, closets, storage or utility rooms, employee areas, garage or warehouse space, patios or porches, and rooms within the structure with restricted access are NOT considered public habitable area.
Top
Q: What is considered 'public habitable area'?
A: Public habitable area means publicly accessible space, within a structure, which is permanent in nature, is in compliance with applicable building codes, is fully enclosed and climate controlled.
Top
Q: How much public habitable area does my permit require?
A: Class AG - requires a minimum of 375 square feet of public habitable area 
Class AR - requires a minimum of 500 square feet of public habitable area 
Class B - requires a minimum of 500 square feet of public habitable area 
Class C - requires a minimum of 1000 square feet of public habitable area
Top
Q: What is a compliance check?
A: A compliance check is an unannounced inspection by ATC agents to determine if an establishment, employees and customers are complying with alcohol and tobacco laws.
Top
Q: How are establishments chosen for compliance checks?
A: There are many mechanisms by which an establishment can be selected for a compliance check. The most common method is being selected in a random sample of all permit holders. Another way establishments are selected is in response to complaints received by ATC concerning alleged illegal activity.
Top
Q: What is the legal age to enter a bar in Louisiana?
A: 18 years old.
Top
Q: What is the legal drinking age in Louisiana?
A: 21 years old. However, 18-20 year olds may consume alcohol in an alcoholic beverage outlet if they are accompanied by a parent, spouse, or legal guardian who is 21 years of age or older.
Top
Q: What is the legal age for tobacco use in Louisiana?
A: 18 years old.
Top
Q: I need to attend a Responsible Vendor server class. How do I find one?
A: Responsible Vendor Courses